LIN, Ching-Mei

LIN, Ching-Mei

Ching-Mei Lin is a Taiwanese-born composer and pianist. In her music Lin incorporates innovative and international techniques, combining small-scale dissonances with large-scale consonant structures and pentatonic modality within a chromatic pitch language. She has composed for soloists and ensembles in North America, Europe, Australia and Asia. Her works have been performed at the Aspen Music Festival, the Bowdoin International Music Festival, the Earshot New Music Reading, the National Association of Composers/USA National Conference, Society of Composers Conference, the Midwest Composers Symposium, the North American Saxophone Alliance Biennial Conference, the Asian Double Reed Association Conference, the ISCM-Taiwan concert series and at the Asian Composers League Festival. Her works have been performed by such ensembles as the Detroit Symphony Orchestra, the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra, the Taiwan Philharmonic, the National Taiwan Symphony Orchestra, the YinQi Chorus and Symphony Orchestra, the Pioneer Valley Symphony Orchestra, the American Academy of Conducting at Aspen Orchestra, the University of Michigan Symphony Orchestra, the Eastman School of Music Symphony Orchestra, National Taipei University of the Arts Symphony Orchestra, the Aspen Contemporary Music Ensemble, the Ossia New Music Ensemble, Ju Percussion Group, the ProArt Ensemble and the Kaohsiung Chamber Chorus among others.

Lin was the sole recipient of the String Quartet award at the Emerging Composers Competition in 2009, and has received numerous other distinctions including an ASCAP Morton Gould Young Composer Award, 1 st Prize at the NACUSA Young Composers Competition, Honorable Mention for the Libby Larsen Prize by the International Alliance for Women in Music, the Government Literary and Artistic Creation Award in Taiwan and 3rd place in the Sun River Prize in China. As the overall prizewinner in the 2008 New Music on the Block competition sponsored by Block M Records, her “Fantasy for Alto Saxophone and Marimba” is available online at iTunes.

Upon graduation from the National Taiwan Normal University, Ms. Lin was awarded a government scholarship to study abroad. She holds a Masters of Music degree in Composition from the Eastman School of Music (Rochester, NY) and a Doctor of Musical Arts degree from the University of Michigan (Ann Arbor). Her composition teachers include William Bolcom, Bright Sheng, Evan Chambers, David Liptak, Ricardo Zohn-Muldoon, Gordon Shi-Wen Chin and Chin-Yow Lin. Lin is also an active pianist, improviser and collaborator. She has composed and performed film music for two Taiwanese documentaries. She is currently Associate Professor of Music Theory and Composition at the Taipei National University of the Arts in Taiwan.

Orchestral/Concerto Works
Title Instrumentation Year Duration NCAF-funded
On the Sails of Life for Orchestra (, 3 Perc- Strings) 2016
Paean for a Warrior and Love for Orchestra (, 3 Perc-Piano-Strings) 2016
Singing Heart for Violin and Orchestra 2016
Dancing Morning Sunlight for Orchestra (, 3 Perc- Strings) 2014 18'
Reflections of the Seasons for Orchestra (, 3 Perc-Harp-Strings) 2009
Ritual Dances for Chamber Orchestra: ( Perc-Harp- 2006
Shattered Prism for String Orchestra 2005
Abysmal Cry Orchestra (, 3 Perc- Harp- Strings) 2004 11'
Piano Concerto Orchestra ( Strings) 2002 21'
Vocal Works/Choral
Title Instrumentation Year Duration NCAF-funded
At The Twilight Hour for SATB Chorus and Piano 2014 9'
Gazing At the Sea for SATB Chorus and Piano 2013 5'
Invocation for Soprano, Violin, Piano, and Percussion 2012 9'
A Journey Called Life for SATB Chorus, Flute, and Piano 2010
Twinkle of the Moonlight for Chorus (S-A-T-B) 2007
Visions for Soprano and Piano 2004 10'
The Time of Year for Soprano and Piano 2003 6'
Four-Leaved Clover for Chorus (S-A-T) and Piano 2001 6'
The Guest in the Twilight for Clarinet, 2 Cellos, Soprano & Percussion 2000 10'
Chamber Music Works
Title Instrumentation Year Duration NCAF-funded
A String of Unfathomables for Pipa and String Quartet 2013 13'
Pulsing Wave for Six‐Mallet Marimba and Three Percussionists 2011 13'
Xiang Yun for 2 English Horns, 6 Bassoons, and Contrabassoon 2011 6'
A Starry Night for Soprano Saxophone and Piano 2010
Voices Feom Back Mountains for Clarinet, Violin, Viola, and Cello 2010
Fantasy for Alto Saxophone and Marimba 2008
Beyond the Shadow for String Quartet 2007
One Movement String Quartet for String Quartet 2002 8'
The Pilgrimage for Wind Quintet, Percussion & Strings 2002 10'
Dancing with the Wind for Wind Quintet & 2 Percussions 2001 8'
Trio for Violin, Cello, and Piano 2001 14'
Percussion Quartet for Percussion Quartet 1999 12'
String Quartet for String Quartet 1999 9'
Solo Instrumental Works
Title Instrumentation Year Duration NCAF-funded
Returning for Solo Piano 2015 10'
Departure for Organ 2012 5'
June Jasmine for Solo Piano 2008
Dream Rhapsody for Solo Piano 2007
Frozen Gestures for Flute (also available for oboe) 2005
Piano Suite for Solo Piano 2000 13'

* link to " NCAF online Archive of Grant Fruitages "website (in Chinese)

Title Instrumentation Year Duration